Lamar Hunt, US Open Cup Explainer: How America’s Oldest Club Soccer Tournament Works

Lamar Hunt release this year US Open The Cup is entering the homestretch with just eight teams remaining in the 2022 trophy race. Six of these teams belong to the MLS, and two of them are from the lower divisions of the US football hierarchy. Sacramento Republic FC, which was once just a few steps away from gaining an MLS expansion spot, plays in the USL Championship League Two, while Union Omaha SC competes in the USL League One League Three.

What is the Lamar Hunt Open Cup?

The US Open Cup is the oldest national football cup tournament in the United States, having been played since 1913. the lower divisions who can try their hand at the deep run.

2022 marks the first edition of the USOC since 2019, as subsequent editions in 2020 and 2021 were canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

How is the Open Cup going?

All clubs enter the tournament at various stages, with the first round starting with clubs from the lower divisions such as the NPSL, USL League Two and Open Division, allowing amateur teams from local competition to qualify. More clubs from lower divisions join in the second round, including the USL Championship, MLS Next Pro and USL League One.

MLS teams don’t start joining until the third round, when 17 league teams showed up in April and faced the remaining lower division teams that had made it out of the second round. The fourth round, or Round 32, features the last eight teams in MLS, which consist of the four teams playing in CONCACAF. Champions Leaguefollowed by the next top two top-performing teams in each conference last year’s MLS season.

Only 25 out of 28 MLS teams participate in the tournament as the competition is only available to US clubs. Vancouver WhitecapsFC Montreal and Toronto are not eligible to participate in the USOC.

Who won last year’s tournament?

Since there were no tournaments in 2020 and 2021, the MLS team Atlanta United The FC have been the reigning USOC champions since 2019. They won Minnesota United with a final score of 2:1 thanks to two early goals before the 20th minute.

Who is expected to win the tournament this year?

Until the chances of the winner of the tournament are exhausted DraftKings bookmaker however, Union Omaha SC and Sacramento Republic FC still have two teams from the lower divisions battling for survival against stronger MLS clubs.

History will show that the MLS side tends to win, as the last non-MLS club to take home the trophy were the Rochester Rhinos of the now-defunct A-League in the 1999 tournament. The Rhinos have since been renamed and now compete in MLS Next Pro as Rochester New York FC.

How can I watch the Open Cup?

All matches of the US Open will be broadcast live. ESPN+as they have exclusive rights to the tournament until 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous post 2022 NBA Draft: Who We Picked as the Grizzlies in the SB Nation Trial Draft
Next post Where are the actors today